"For the first few years of our practice we
averaged from two to three hundred patients per. annum, and these
mostly at our free hospitals, Lea Mills. ... But for some years our
want of bedrooms has kept the numbers about stationary. We have so
repeatedly tried medical assistants and failed, that we were unwilling
to increase our accommodation. The last year, 1867, however, we had
to refuse so many that were hopeless of cure or relief by any other
means, that we decided to build a new wing to our Establishment, and
trust to Providence for help. Now, March, 1868, the building, 200
feet long, 50 feet wide, and four storeys high is being rapidly completed.
Every appliance and convenience our long experience has taught us
will be brought into operation".
Riber Castle, 2nd March, 1868.
From Preface from another edition (p.351-2).
Part of Ralph Davis's original hydro building, bought by John
Smedley in 1853, can be seen on the right of the top image.
Our third enlargement of Institution.
From the same book:
The above mid 19th century engravings and quotations have been taken
Smedley, John "Smedley's Practical Hydropathy, 15th ed.",
James Blackwood & Co., Paternoster Row, London. By the time
this edition was published Mr. Smedley had died and the business
had been taken over by Smedley's Hydropathic Company (Limited).
Image scan and information written, reserached by and © Ann Andrews.
Intended for personal use only.