An early twentieth century view of the hotel from
Cat Tor, either very late Victorian or Edwardian.
In 1910 the hotel experienced some financial problems, which
were obliquely referred to in the Derby paper. "One
does not like to hear of an old establishment like the New
Bath Hotel, at Matlock Bath, encountering any of the worries
or anxieties that vex most mundane institutions. The New
Bath is not the oldest Inn in the Matlocks, but it can, of
course, boast a very considerable measure of antiquity. Sixty
years ago it was known as Ivatt's and Jordan's .... has recently
undergone great alterations, been refurnished, and other
improvements carried out. The gardens, which are tastefully
laid out, and adorned with shrubs and flowers, contain a
magnificent lime tree".
According to another report, the lime tree at Matlock
Bath developed from a twig of a tree under which Napoleon used
to sit at St. Helena, pondering his dramatic downfall.
An early visitor to the hotel described the tree in a poem
as covering about a rood of ground and with branches being
supported by forty nine stakes. Some time before 1910 a tremendous
wind storm had swept through the hotel's grounds, and the lime
tree suffered considerable damage.
The tree still looks huge in this picture, indicating
that the original photograph for this card was taken before
the tree was damaged.
On 19 July 1912 what remained of the tree was blown down, leaving
only the stump.
What is interesting in later pictures of the hotel, after the
pool was built in 1934, is that you can still see the curve
of the path where the tree had been.
On the road below the hotel is a building that was used
as a road house but was part of the hotel, connected to it
by an underground passage. In 1891 the Brewster Sessions
discussed the fact that the then manager, Thomas Tyack, was
using it not only as a billiard room but both stored and
sold alcoholic drinks from the premises and the building
did not have a separate license.
Behind the road house you can see the edge of the tufa shelf,
quarried for the stone before the First World War.
Bottom right, on the banks of the river, are the Derwent
Gardens with the relatively newly open Switchback Railway
in the grounds. At the end of the gardens closest to the
camera is what appears to be a vegetable garden and a small
building, whilst at the other end of the Derwent Gardens
are the buildings of the Ferry House and the Fishpond Stables
which were later demolished to make way for the Grand Pavilion.
Not all the houses on Clifton Road had been built; for example
Garforth, at the bottom of the path up to the Cumberland
Cavern, is not on this image. However, although it is hard
to see here, the wooden hut at the Clifton Road entrance
to the grounds of the Palais Royal is at the bend in the
road. Behind Glenside, also on Clifton Road, is a small cottage
that was demolished well before the 1950s when only a few
low stone walls remained.
There is more about the New Bath Hotel
links are to more information elsewhere on this web site):
 "Derby Daily Telegraph",
8 November 1910.
 "Derby Mercury", 1
 The ancient lime tree
is also mentioned by Henry Moore in his guide Picturesque
Excursions From Derby to Matlock Bath (1818).
 "Derby Daily Telegraph",
26 July 1912.
Times and Chesterfield Herald", 29 August 1891. Brewster
 Reminiscences of the late Mr.
Frank Clay, from his private papers and notes owned by the