|Matlock Bath : Twentieth Century Photographs,
Postcards, Engravings & Etchings
This section of Temple Walk, or Temple Road, was built to connect
the former Old Bath Hotel, later the Royal (Bath) Hotel, with
the Temple Hotel.
The Temple is still open for business but where the
Royal Hotel stood is a car park these days.
is one of the older roads in Matlock Bath and the 1848 tithe
map shows it only going approximately as far as the Temple Hotel -
it stopped where the Pitchings crosses the modern road. According
to both William Adam and Benjamin Bryan, the workmen who built
it made an interesting "find". They discovered the
head and antlers of a very large moose deer when they were cutting
through the tufa bank to make the road[1,
These were sent to the British Museum.
"Matlock Bath" Postcard, no.2096, in the collection of, provided
by © Ann
by and © Ann Andrews.
Intended for personal use only.
links are to transcripts or more information elsewhere on this
 See William
Adam's "Gem of the
Peak". The Temple was an annexe to the Old Bath.
The moose information is contained in one of the footers under
Southern End of the Dale
 Matlock and Matlock Bath Tithe map, 1848, Derbyshire
 See Bryan,
Benjamin (1903) "History of Matlock - Matlock, Manor
and Parish" London by Bemrose & Sons, Limited