Derbyshire's Parishes, 1811> This page
Derbyshire's Parishes, 1811
The parishes and chapelries as they were just over 200 years ago. Extracts from an early Derbyshire history

Notes on the Text
From : 'History of Derbyshire' by David Peter Davies

  • Although towns, villages and hamlets are given under each Deanery or Archdeaconry in the original source, they are listed alphabetically here to make things easier to find.

  • All places were located within the county in 1811. Later boundary changes may mean some towns and villages, e.g. Stapenhill, are no longer within Derbyshire. In 1811 some communities had the county boundary running right through the middle. An example of this was Packington, in the Deanery of Repington, where the church was in Leicestershire but the houses were in Derbyshire.

  • Place names are spelt as found - this may differ from the accepted modern day spelling. It should also be noted that many villages expanded considerably after this book was written - what were then very small communities may now be quite large towns.

  • Some communities are not included by Davies, possibly because of their size in 1811 so if a comment was felt to be needed about the missing places, information has been added from: "Topographical and Historical Account of Derbyshire" by Rev Daniel Lysons and Samuel Lysons Esq. pub 1817 (London) as their book was published just a few years later.

  • Additional notes and comments within the main text [e.g. dates] are enclosed in square brackets. Following an update in Feb 2009 most additional references are at the bottom of each page, with a hyperlink down. Otherwise the text is as it is in the book, so you may just find that some buildings mentioned have disappeared in the intervening centuries.

  • The dates for the reigns of the Kings and Queens have been taken from 'The Royal Line of Succession' by Patrick W. Montague-Smith, Editor of Debrett's Peerage, pub. Pitkin Pictorials Ltd. (1968)

  • "Domesday" was a survey of lands in England, made by order of King William the Conqueror, in 1086. The Norman Conquest of England took place in the year 1066. Unless different in the book's text, Domesday names appear in italics throughout.

  • Money - £ s. d. : before decimalization took place, English money was divided into pounds, shillings and pence, or LSD as it was sometimes referred to. There were 12 pennies to the shilling and 20 shillings to the pound. Pence were divided into the even smaller units of farthing (¼d), ha'penny (½d) and three farthings (¾d).

  • Please note that the place called West Derby is not in Derbyshire at all; it is part of Liverpool in Lancashire.
  • Although I'm unable to provide any additional material from the book I would welcome comments.

  • Please refer to the Conditions of Use if you want to use quotations from these pages.

Davies' book
An Ann Andrews book transcript