In 1946 Matlock Town Football Club was re-formed and in the August
fourteen players, most of them with experience of senior football,
were signed on[1]. It
is believed that all three gentlemen show here were members of the
original post-war Matlock Town Football Club committee which re-launched
the club and recruited those players[2].
The committee members shown here were (from left to right):
Jack T. Phillips - secretary, who had played full back for the club
before WW2 and had succeeded Joe Johnson in the role[3];
Harry Gill - photographer and ground secretary;
Leslie Richard Standen - manager of the Midland Bank. He was the first post
war treasure and held the role for many years.
He was also Chairman of the local British Legion.
They were all attending a dinner, possibly held in the Old English
Hotel. A note attached to the photo reads: "Taken
1950's. Ken Boitoult was entertainments secretary". Mr. Boitoult
managed Harry Gill's shop on South Parade, Matlock Bath, and was
also his son in law.
|