Guides Index> Bemroses' Guide, Index> This page
Bemroses' Guide to Matlock ... , about 1869*
Eighteenth and nineteenth century tour guides about Matlock Bath and Matlock
 
The Royal Cumberland Cavern & Romantic Rocks

The Bridge at Matlock, Bemrose
Bemroses' Guide
Matlock's Scenery
Caverns, Rocks, Museums, Church
Bath to Dale
Black Rocks
to Parish Church
High Tor & Antiquities
Matlock Bank & Riber
Walks & Places of Interest
Mr. Smedley's Hydropathic Establishment
Walker's Museum
Matlock House & Rockside
Royal Cumberland Cavern
Clark Greaves
Radfirth & Stevenson
Midland Railway 01
Midland Railway 02
Further Information
About Matlock
About Matlock Bath
Find a Name


Cumberland Cavern


Royal Cumberland Cavern and Romantic Rocks.
Image Scan 2004 Ann Andrews

p.11
'These caverns are, for the most part, mostly excavated mines, which have been worked, from age to age, by successive generations from the olden time, when those mighty masters of the world, the ancient Romans, left the memorials of their power and skill in Britain - till their subterranean chambers ceased to yield a remuneration for the toil of the exploring labourers.'

p.14
'Messrs. Smedley's CUMBERLAND CAVERN is the oldest and, geologically considered, the most remarkable of these astonishing excavations; exhibiting singular cominations and wonderful contrasts, that cannot fail to impress the ordinary observer, and to perplex the conjectures of the studious.'


*'Bemroses' Guide to Matlock, Bakewell, Chatsworth, Haddon Hall, &c' by John Hicklin, Third Edition, pub Bemrose and Sons, London (no date, but about 1869).
Reproduced here with the very kind permission and help of Sonia Addis Smith, whose book this is from.
OCRed and images scanned by Ann Andrews, 2001 - 2004.

More on site information about Matlock Bath's Caverns
Gem of the Peak (1840)
Lead Mining

The following may also be of interest
William Smedley wrote a poem called Matlock Bath, Derbyshire (scroll down the page)
Matlock Bath: Royal Cumberland Cavern
Matlock Bath: Romantic Rocks or Dungeon Tors, 1864