Images Index> 18th & 19th Century Images> This page
Matlock Bath: Adam & Co., Royal Museum Advertisement, 1840
Eighteenth and Nineteenth Century : Photographs, Postcards, Engravings & Etchings
18th & 19th C Images
Next Image
Previous Image
More Matlock Bath Pictures
20th & 21stC
"Just" Images
Matlock Bath
General Info
About Matlock Bath
Find a Name

Matlock Bath: from a sketch by Samuel Rayner, 1830

More engravings from this book (Picture Gallery):

The Crescent, Buxton

Haddon Hall

Matlock Bath

The advertisements, really a two page spread, for Adam & Co's. Royal Museum were published William Adam's book "The Gem of the Peak"[1]. Adam took over what had been Mr. Mawe's Royal Museum from John Vallance, who opened his own museum in the building next door.

Read another advertisement for the museum, extracted from Jewitt's "The Matlock Companion"

Advertisements for The Royal Museum, Matlock Bath, and text from the book, published in: Adam, W. (1840) "The Gem of the Peak" London; Longman & Co., Paternoster Row.
From the collection of and © Ann Andrews.
Information written, researched by and © Ann Andrews.
Intended for personal use only.

References (coloured links are to transcripts and information elsewhere on this web site):

[1] Adam, William (1840) "The Gem of the Peak", London; Longman & Co., Paternoster Row - see onsite transcript.